The Christmas Heirloom – Karen Witemeyer, Kristi Ann Hunter, Sarah Loudin Thomas, and Becky Wade (4.5-5 Stars)

The Christmas Heirloom book focuses around four generations of women who are connected by an heirloom brooch passed from mother to daughter.  Ms. Hunter's "Legacy of Love" tells the story of the brooch's origins and the gift an elderly woman gives to her grandson and her young companion.  Ms. Witemeyer's "Gift of the Heart," follows Ruth Albright and her young daughter as they use the brooch as collateral for a new home, impressing a local businessman along the way.  In Ms. Thomas' "A Shot at Love," a young woman with aspirations of hunting and gunsmithing finds herself impressed by a hunter with a knack of finding her brooch on several occasions.  Finally, Ms. Wade expertly concludes the story in "Because of You," in which a young woman stumbles on her family's brooch in the middle of a Christmas charity project.  Each woman is offered a chance at love and a means to carry on her family legacy to the next generation.

 

Fans of Ms. Hunter, Ms. Witemeyer, Ms. Thomas, and Ms. Wade will definitely love the chance to read these novellas, with connections to many other novels and series that they have published recently.  Even for those who typically avoid Christmas-specific stories, this particular collection is well worth reading throughout the year.

 

Overall, I really enjoyed reading The Christmas Heirloom.  Ms. Hunter's novella was an absolute joy to read, although Ms. Witemeyer's story may be my personal favorite.  The characters and town in "Gift of the Heart" jumped off the page and I would not be surprised if fans persuade Ms. Witemeyer to write more about this delightful town in a future story.  Personally, I found the style of Ms. Thomas to be a surprising contrast to that of the other stories, especially as the other three authors are known for having slightly humorous aspects to their other novels.  While Ms. Thomas did a good job with her story, I wasn't entirely convinced of its overall fit in the collection.  In contrast, Ms. Wade made more sense to go along with the styles of Ms. Hunter and Ms. Witemeyer.  For fans of Ms. Wade's Bradford Sisters series, it was really fun to see a secondary character have her own story.

 

Special thanks to Bethany House and NetGalley for the complimentary copy of The Christmas Heirloom!  Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

 

Thanks!

 

Brittany at the Books and Biscuits Blog

 

PS. To see the full review, please visit http://booksandbiscuits.com/blog/2018/10/02/review-the-christmas-he.... Thanks!

Views: 11

Comment

You need to be a member of -TBCN: Where Book Fun Begins- to add comments!

Join -TBCN: Where Book Fun Begins-

New Member Orientation

We are posting videos here in the this group to help all of our members figure out how to use this site :-)

CLICK HERE TO JOIN

We will be posting videos all the time now, basically going through the entire site. 

Notes

Welcome

Created by Phred St Laurent May 27, 2010 at 11:35pm. Last updated by Phred St Laurent May 31, 2010.

Contact TBCN

If you have a question or suggestion please feel free to contact us here:

Email me:

Fred@bookfunmagazine.com

Christians Read Blog

Book Fun Catalog

© 2019   Created by Phred St Laurent.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service